day one…

The tube of Fluorouracil looks like any other tube of ointment one could pick up at a drug store…but yet it is different.  This nondescript tube holds my chemotherapy treatment for the next 30 days and as I look at it on the bathroom counter I am somewhat troubled…I have seen what this tube of chemicals can do to your face. I was encouraged by my doctor to look up the images on the world-wide web, in blogs like this one I am writing. They are not pleasant images. Certainly not like googling images of tropical beaches with incredible resorts. No, this was my next 30 days looking back at me from my computer screen and it troubled me. I am troubled because asking me to rub this on my face everyday to help destroy my skin cancer is somewhat akin to giving me a needle and thread when I need stitches…and I do not want to do it. I realize that comparison is a little far-fetched and I do have a penchant for the dramatic but anyone who knows me also knows that I am that guy, the one who averts his eyes when needles are shown on TV. It is difficult to describe what it was like to open that tube of Fluorouracil and apply all over my face. It took all of 5 minutes and was rather anticlimactic. I did not feel any different. I did not look any different. But i knew I had started the journey and that was all that mattered; I had started. It is a journey I hope you will take with me the next few weeks. Come with me, let’s open a dialogue about skin cancer…comment, ask questions and share your stories. Before you ask; the answer is yes, I will be posting pictures as this journey progresses.

God bless  -Ian

Author: ianmn

FOX 9 Chief Meteorologist Ian Leonard...love my life, love my wife, love my daughters and love my dog...kinda like the cat. I am the #stayskyaware dude.

17 thoughts on “day one…”

  1. Good luck in your journey. Take it all in, relax when you can and keep that positive smile! You’ve got this!

    I can remember my 1st day of chemo like it was yesterday…mine was not skin cancer…but I remember staring at the IV bags of chemicals about to be put in my body and I just knew I would prevail….3+ years cancer free and here to help you along your journey!

    Like

    1. Hi Ian! Thank You for sharing your journey with us and being so open and honest about your feelings. Please know that you are very much adored and cared about!! ~ Big Hugs! ~ Kimberly Maiers

      Like

  2. I am with you. It is what it is and you have your grips on IT! I’m sending lots of love to that sensitive side of you, and side line giggles to the funny guy who will make light of IT! Stay strong Ian and every time you look in that mirror remember you have so, so many people that care about you…and are with YOU.

    Like

  3. Praying for you Ian! I know God is with you on this journey and your not alone. He is with you and those rough days, He will carry you. Can’t wait till your back again making all of us smile. Bless you

    Like

  4. Hi Ian, I have some ideawhat you’re going through as my son had this treatment. Not easy to go through but the good news, it has worked for him almost 2yrs now no cancer. Good luck. Prayers and Blessings to you.

    Like

  5. I hope all goes good for you. You are on great man. And it don’t matter what you look like you will always be one wonderful man. God bless you always and prayers also sent always.

    Like

  6. Ian,
    I had Basel cell on my ear. Thankfully my case was not so severe but I had the same surgeon and go to the same Drs group. They are really good so you are in the best hands.
    I will keep you in my prayers that you will have success in this treatment.

    Like

  7. Ian, my heart goes out to you! My father and I have both on occasions used the same tube you’ve described….. with similar thoughts on day 1. Although we only had to treat smaller specific areas on our faces, we lived through the tough views in the mirror, the questions from friends the first time they saw the scabs and the pain in the process.

    Skin cancer sucks! Bless you for opening up to all of us on your journey. You rock and will totally make it through this step too!!

    Like

  8. Will be thinking of you! Will miss you on the air- thou roughly enjoy your weather casts ! I always ask my husband -” has Ian been on yet??!!” Love fox 9!!! Question- is this from sun exposure or totally unrelated ? Stay positive and I look forward to your return to fox!!

    Like

  9. Ian,
    You give me courage to face the tough days. You make me laugh and smile when I want to just give up.
    You will inspire others to get checked and live with cancer one day at a time with God by their side too.
    God Be With You!!!

    Like

  10. I had a basal cell carcinoma on my nose. I had Mohs surgery to remove the spot – I was surprised how big it was. It healed really well and the scar is hardly noticeable. After it was healed I had 3 months of light therapy where they put Aminolevulinic acid on my face then sat under a special blue light which activated the drug. The first night after the therapy was the worse – then I looked like I had the worst sun burn and my face peeled. Seemed so contradictory to the condition but I am cancer free for 2 years and go in regularly for skin checks.

    Wish you luck as you go through your therapy

    Like

  11. Unfortunately I read your entire blog last night. I have been prescribed the same drug to use on my arms, legs, chest and face. I am not going to fill it. Your pictures are horrendous. I don’t want to go through that, especially with the possibility of losing your taste buds. I am surprised your doctor told you to look at photos. My doctor told me to absolutely stay off the internet and not look at any photos. I am so sorry you are going through this horrible process. I wish you better days ahead. You are a brave man.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

