Day 20, pics…

Sunday-Funday, not really. Worst day so far. Painful burning, crawling, scratch-it-now-right-freaking-now feeling over most of my face.  Hey ref, can I make a substitution? Aquaphor, you are on the bench, Hydrocortisone get in the game. 

Day 20, looking ahead to the finish. 

Did you contact a friend yet? Thanks for stopping by.

God bless,

-Ian

Author: ianmn

FOX 9 Chief Meteorologist Ian Leonard...love my life, love my wife, love my daughters and love my dog...kinda like the cat. I am the #stayskyaware dude.

37 thoughts on “Day 20, pics…”

  1. Prayers to you, after reading your blog, it made me think, yep today was cloudy and gloomy, yep I have aches and pains, but I’m alive and well. Take care Ian….God be with you for a speedy recovery

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ian – you are almost finished. You are strong. I know you do not want to put that stuff on your face one more day. It is difficult, but this race must be completed. Then the healing will be begin. Prayers for you every day. You are an inspiration to others. And your sharing will save lives! I’m a huge fan of yours – I’ve done the cream, I’ve hit my head. Nobody would want to join our “club”. God’s Blessings to you and your family.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It looks very painful. Not sure I could hold up without scratching it. Thank you for bringing awareness to this in a way people are paying attention. Too many people suffer from cancer either by having to deal with it directly or by being a caregiver. If you are interested in speaking about your journey at our American Cancer Society Relay For Life of Delano event on Saturday July 22 in the afternoon, please email me at lynnbartels@playlsi.com I am the chairperson for our event. Praying for days to pass quickly to the end of your treatment and you get back om TV soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You have more days finishes than you have left to tackle! Soon this will be just a memory. Hang in there and stay strong. Thank you for sharing your story. We are all here for you cheering you along!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh looks so painful. Thank u for sharing your story. U are in our prayers and look forward to seeing u on TV soon. Miss you. The Weather news is not the same without you. Get well soon.

    Like

  6. Dear Friend,
    I wish I lived around the corner from you again. But I don’t, and that does not stop me from thinking of you, praying for you , and sending positive vibes through the Universe to you.
    Lots of love to you from one cancer survivor to another.
    xo
    Melody

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m so sorry Ian, it looks so painful. Day 20….. you are almost there….. 10 more horrible days and it will be over. Meditate and think of jumping in the cold lakes in the winter and see if that helps at all?? 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Thanks for the “give a friend a call” story. I received a message from 2 people I worked with 10+ years ago. They had heard about my injury and wanted to see how everything is going. Made my day happier and I hope your day will be happier also. I bet Jasper wonders why he can’t lick your face.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Stay strong Ian. Not knowing the dynamics of this chemo, but would antihistamines work? If anything they might help you rest/ sleep. Just a thought. So many people are praying for you? Stay strong!

    Like

  10. You can’t choose what comes to you but you can choose your response. You are making great choices with your honesty,perseverance and sense of humor. One question, does your foot itch? Think about your foot, the bones,blood flowing, what makes up the skin etc. And when you get the strong urge to scratch, itch your foot. Focus your thoughts on something you know to be true. I focus on a verse from the Bible like The Lord is my constant companion, There is no need He cannot meet.
    Praying to the great healer.

    Like

  11. Ian you look so miserable with that stuff but I think your over half way done. Keep your spirits high. We are all pulling for you @ praying for you. Good bless you@ your family.

    Like

  12. Thanks to you, for raising awareness, and for all you are helping to heal. (I met your daughter and wife with my niece for the fundraiser last year.) Wishing, and praying, and hoping for strength as you and your family as you pass through this chapter.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Ian, this is quite the journey you will be stronger for it and remember you’re almost two-thirds of the way done praying for you and your family. Waiting for your return back to television

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Ian, every day is the first day of the rest of your life. By reading your posts, I know you are making the most of every “first” day. We all should, and I will try harder to do so as well. You truly are an inspiration to me.

    Like

  15. Oh Ian, I am so sorry you are going through this. I’ve been following your story every day and praying continually. You are very missed! May God continue to give you strength and comfort.

    Like

  16. Oh Ian! OUCH! It now looks like someone threw scalding hot water on your face. It brings tears to my eyes. I do hope you take the path of educating young people in Jr. High and Highschool about the dangers from the sun. Once they see your photos, I bet you would change many minds. It’s like the saying goes: “Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day; teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime”

    God bless you and your family!

    Dawn Sperry

    Like

  17. Hi Ian. I too started this treatment on my chest just prior to Christmas. Nearly done. I get maximum relief by taking Benadryl and Ibuprofen as well as with application of Vaseline throughout the day. This whole process sucks but surely better than the alternative. Hang in there. Best of luck. Everyone be sure to use sunscreen and remember to reapply often.

    Like

  18. I am hoping and praying this all will be gone in no time. Wish I could take away your pain. You will do just fine I just know it,

    Linda

    Like

Leave a Reply

