The climb is almost complete…

I could see it off in the distance. The summit looked so far away on the first of January. My family had been preparing for the climb since August. It started with a discovery. Squamous Cell cancer in my bottom lip. That word, cancer. That one word can stop your heart. First came fear, then 7 MOHS surgeries. Then plastic surgery. The cancer stole a third of my bottom lip. Bad for a man on television. My wife and I have always had a motto. (What’s a motto? Nothing, what’s a motto with you?) Ours is a simple motto; “anywhere but the face”. Be it ever so humble with a big nose smack in the center, but my mug is our moneymaker. And soon this mug will be back on FOX 9 doing what I love! I owe so much to Dr Jennifer Dick, Dr. Sachin Bhardwaj, Dr Peter Hilger and Dr Dan Peterson. They are now and will always be friends whose compassion is only second to their incredible medical skills. 

Cancer sucks. But I have been blessed. Blessed by kindness. This kindness has many faces. From my closest friends to complete strangers. Notes on social media, emails from afar, meals made by great neighbors and friends who bring treats. I am truly blessed. To be honest; there are moments when emotions get the better of me. My face is a splotchy mess. I am reminded every time I look into the mirror and see the swollen redness that looks back at me. I am reminded with insomnia and lack of taste. I am reminded with the cycles of numbing fiery pain that come and go. But it all slips away when I remember the acts of kindness. It slips away with my prayers. The climb has been difficult. The summit is close. I am blessed. 
Day 22. Thanks for stopping by.
God bless, 
-Ian

Author: ianmn

FOX 9 Chief Meteorologist Ian Leonard...love my life, love my wife, love my daughters and love my dog...kinda like the cat. I am the #stayskyaware dude.

20 thoughts on “The climb is almost complete…”

    1. Hi Ian we’ve met at before at Special Olympics events when my daughter was competing. I just wanted to let you know that I appreciate your blunt honesty about your battles with cancer. There can never be too much publicity about surviving cancer. There is a light at the end of the tunnel. You’re almost there. You’re a runner you know that feeling when you’re approaching the finish line. Well your finish line is almost here. Take care you got this! Kris

      Like

  1. Tomorrow I have stitches removed from my second MOHS surgery with Dr. Bhardwaj. Both on my face. He is a very skilled surgeon! I appreciate you sharing your experience. I wish you a very successful result from your month of pain and redness! Hopefully those reading your journey will put on their sunscreen. I sure wish I would have in my younger days.

    Like

  2. Continues prayers for you and yours Ian! You will beat this! Look forward to seeing you on air with your quick wit and wonderful forecasts! Be they good or iffy!

    Like

  3. Hang tough Ian!!!! You’ve got this! Your in the home stretch! 😃 You have a lot of supporters pushing for you! You can do it!!! Prayers and hugs from all of us!!!!

    Like

  4. God bless you Ian. Your strength is amazing. Thank you for sharing this journey. I am sure it will help, maybe even save many prior sun worshipers.

    Like

  5. What a happy day it will be when we , through the magic of tv, we welcome you back into our homes. Until then we continue to keep you in our hearts, but more important,y in our prayers. Prayers for your wife and girls, too.

    Like

  6. Almost there Mr Leonard, even on cloudy days there’s a rainbow just waiting to shine. I haven’t walked your path but I have had a journey with my husband that has had more then one bump in the road. All we can do is take one step at a time and count our blessings . May your days be less painful and journeys end closer. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I am so humbled by your story. We are a cancer surviving family (Leukemia) and know first hand how surviving cancer changes one. It changes how you think, how you see your future, your family, your perspective on things. So many things that were once huge are now little. Family is everything. Thank you for sharing your journey with us.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. so Ian, how in the world do you Shave! Looking forward to seeing you back on Fox9, when your time permits. Thamk you for being a blessing, and thank you once again for your testimony of LIFE

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Oh Hon, you are SO close. I’ve never met you in person but, my prayers and thoughts are with you. You’ve done so well. “I know I can!”.

    Like

  10. Hi Ian , We have met you at many Special Olympics Events and I have always had trouble getting my son Patrick to wear son screen but after seeing what the son did to you he said he will never complain about it again. Hang in there can’t wait to see you soon. I know you can do it!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I love your uplifting attitude. You are very brave and I know with all my being that you WILL be back on Fox 9 in no time. It is the only news channel watched in our home. Thank you for being there. Tell Jasper Hi from both myself and Jeanne Harper who was a wonderful co-worker for many years. She helped get my last two poodles who needed adopting, a mother and daughter.

    God bless you and keep up the good work.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. You are a strong man, blogging about your situation. It brings hope and inspiration to people around the world. You can do this, you are almost to the end. You have great supporters and a loving family behind you all the way. Continued prayers go your way. I can’t wait to see you back on the air again! You are my favorite weather man!

    Like

Leave a Reply

