Ready to be done…

A broken heart, a case of fine wine, bacon chili leftovers the next day. These are things that get better with time. Fluorouracil 5% chemotherapy does not. The effects of this topical chemotherapy build over time. In my case, 23 days. Each day another application of the cream with worsening effects. In an odd way it feels a little “off” when you realize you are treating you. Like receiving a set of surgical instruments with sheet instructions before they send you home to take out your own appendix. It is a little “off”. Today I was a little off. The treatment brings with it an array of dizzying side effects; 
Skin irritation, burning, redness, dryness, pain, swelling, tenderness, or changes in skin color may occur at the site of application. Eye irritation (e.g., stinging, watering), trouble sleeping, irritability, temporary hair loss, or abnormal taste in the mouth may also occur.
I left out the part about skin ulceration because…ulceration. It is all medical speak. Kinda like when I talk about isentropic lifting in a forecast (look it up). It would be better to say your skin will burn, turn red and it is very painful. Pharmacists call this drug F-U-5. They say it tells skin cancer Eff-You. It comes with pain. The pain is real. Not constant but in cycles. It will be okay. I got this. I am almost done. A few of you have sent notes. You have been prescribed Fluorouracil. You don’t want to start. You are scared. So was I…I still am. But listen, you gotta do this. 30 days of discomfort now versus skin cancer later. You gotta do this. I will help. I will be your chemo buddy. I have messaged a few of you, and we are in this, together. For the rest of you; buddy-up. Find that person in your life that needs help and buddy-up. We all need each other. There is someone in your life that needs help right now. Reach out, buddy-up. Invite me to as well. We are all stronger together than apart. 
Hey, who ate the leftover bacon chili? 

Day 23. Thanks for stopping by.

God bless, 
-Ian
I can’t wait to get back to the gym for some isentropic lifting.(weatherman joke, really funny, trust me) 

Author: ianmn

FOX 9 Chief Meteorologist Ian Leonard...love my life, love my wife, love my daughters and love my dog...kinda like the cat. I am the #stayskyaware dude.

31 thoughts on “Ready to be done…”

  1. You are almost there! Attitude is half the battle. Hug your wife and girls a little tighter tonight for the inspiration to continue to fight strong! Prayers for you.

    Like

  2. Sweetheart, you look like your face is melting off. Soon you will be done. Bless you for sharing and giving to others. Hang in there.

    Like

  3. I’m so glad you are keeping your sense of humor. Don’t let cancer or pain take that away. We are all here praying for you and all people that are struggling.

    Like

  4. Ian, please know you are loved and missed very much. Stay strong my man and keep your eye on the “prize” of cancer free. Fox 9 is not the same … Gentle hugs to you.

    Like

  5. My husband has stage 3 colon cancer. About a month ago he found out his cousin has stage 4 colon cancer. They have become chemo buddies. They have chemo on opposite weeks so when one finishes the chemo they call to check on on a another and share their thoughts about the effects. You need a buddy to get by. Thank you Ian for sharing and being a buddy. God bless you. 😇

    Like

  6. Ian you are sharing such a personal journey, and you are very inspiring. I pray for you and cheer you on to the finish line 7 days…………..

    Like

  7. You are an amazing man. Your heart is so big, kind and compassionate. You have been and will continue to be in my husband and my daily prayers. You got this!

    Like

  8. “you got this” I am sure there are better words, but I don’t know them. Soon, you will be back posting facebook videos from the weather office and I can’t wait!!!!

    Like

  9. Thanks for being so informative. It looks like it is getting worse, Is it?
    When the treatment is over, will your skin/face look the same as it did before the TX ? How do you shave? I would think you’d scrape your poor skin right off.
    ~night 🌙

    Like

  10. Good for you for sharing your story! I had malignant desmoplastic melanoma 5 years ago. The mayo dr’s call me the freak show because it was the deepest non-spreading case they had seen. I posted this last year. Keep up the fight!

    Ok time to get on my soapbox a little bit. I know it’s the time of year when you’re getting out of town for that warm vacation we Midwesterners all deserve. Or maybe you young ladies are thinking ahead to prom or a college sorority spring formal. Guys itching to get on the golf course. Most would choose sunkissed over the lovely lily white midwinter look, but I’m going to ask you to think about it before you bask, inadequately protected in the sun, or purchase the package of tanning booth sessions. It’s been 5 years for me I just graduated to the cancer free designation after 60 months of exams, 3 surgeries, radiation treatments (10 times stronger than the type for other cancers), many trips to the mayo every 3 months (with help from friends and family), and lots of sleepless nights
    Melanoma wasn’t a word I thought too much about or took too seriously. Most people don’t until it involves someone you know. “It will never happen to me”. I wasn’t a sun worshipper, but when I went on a vacation, I did go to a tanning bed to “get a base”. Wow! My melanoma was on my elbow where my arm would have rested against the tanning bed. I now sport a 7 inch scar, that has that Frankenstein railroad track look. Do I hide it? Absolutely not. I want people to notice and ask me about it, so I can let them know the seriousness of not being proactive about the sun. Many blessings came out of having melanoma but I do recommend avoiding it if possible. Be smart!

    Ps I brought it up st 6 different dr appointments and they told me each time it was fine The first biopsy came back “OK”. Negative! When I insisted again that they take it off several years later after multiple inquiries they did and found the malignancy. Ultimately the mayo retested the initial biopsy and it was positive and it had been missed. We must listen to our bodies and out inner voice. Had I not pushed it would have gone on and spread. I will keep you in my prayers Tgsnjs for spreading the word!
    Kristin Jensen

    Liked by 2 people

  11. Ian you are part of our family in my household!!
    We are pulling for you and you have given me so much inspiration to be able to take care of myself like my Dr. has told me to. I thought that it was impossible to make such a life change but i stumbled onto your journey in words, and i believe that you have just changed my life!
    I will keep coming back to read about your days and gow youve made us all laugh during this hard time…they say laughter is the best medicine….i believe it is!.. much love Ian and we can’t wait to see you back.We miss you!

    Like

  12. Ian, I can’t even begin to imagine the pain you have been in for the past few week. I admire your courage going through this. Prayers coming your way to stay strong. The end IS in sight!

    Like

  13. Hi Ian,
    I just read all of your entries and have enjoyed following you in this painful and necessary journey. I have a chronic illness, an invisible one, and often find myself- like you reminding myself there are other people who have things worse than I do. I acknowledge this, however through my support group I have learned my pain, depression, and anxiety about my disability are valid. Please remember what you are going through is brutal for you and your family and it’s ok to have whatever emotions you each have about it. Thanks for being so open and vulnerable.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. My very first chemo treatment was in October. I met the nicest lady that day who was having a treatment as well. It made my first time so much less scary. Next week I find out if the chemo did its job.
    Hang in there Ian, you got the fighting spirit. Thank you for sharing your journey.

    Like

  15. Ian, feel so bad for you…only a few more treatments left…I so pray you can get thru this awful cycle….then on to better things…..and I know you can do this….we’re all here for you….my story was a little different…but I finally succeeded…hopefully for good…although cancer is very prevalent in my family,,,just lost a cousin last week to cancer….enough about me…good luck and look forward to your words of wisdom tomorrow….Judy

    Like

  16. I say a prayer for u every day! Keep the faith! Be thankful for every day as I know you are. I am a cancer survivor, and now am facing having a heart transplant in the future. I praise God for each day I have!!!!!

    Like

  17. Ian,

    I can’t imagine. I have you and your family in my thoughts and prayers. One of our peers, my predecessor, went through this years ago and I routinely saw the pain he went through. Peace. Dan the Chan wxman

    Liked by 1 person

  18. One gets to the finish line in a marathon one step at a time. No matter how painful it is and how badly you want to quit you know there is glory at the end. Those of us watching you all have our signs of inspiration at the finish line waiting and watching for you to cross. Your courage, determination will carry you along to the end. We continue provide the tail wind you need through our prayers. You got this!!!

    Like

  19. Ouch 🙁

    I hate saying ‘thank you’ for your painful story & pics…it feels too much like ‘Thank you! I’m happy that you’re in pain!’ Couldn’t be farther from the truth.

    I’ve never met you but through your words you create such a camaraderie with the reader, you have a beautiful gift! And I’m so glad your pain-filled journey is almost done, you’re on the down side of the roller coaster. Hug to you, sir. You got this 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  20. So, I’m a little late to the party. I don’t really watch TV, but saw this on FB. I’ll spare you my story and just say this…thank you for sharing your journey, your fight. Thank you for the awareness you bring to this disease. It baffles me that I see tanning salons, new tanning salons! How is this not a thing of the past? Don’t people know? Someone once told me tanning to prep your skin for vacation makes as much sense as smoking before you go into a bar to prep your lungs for the smokey atmosphere. (Back when people smoke indoors) doesn’t that just make you think? I don’t know if the young people still tan in the box, but I always thought schools should have a guest speaker with then and now photos showing what happens when you have chemo on your face, or when your body is covered in scars from all the surgeries to remove the effects of looking good for vacation or prom. So, again thank you for sharing this with us. Blessings and strength to you and your family.

    Like

  21. Ian, you are an inspiration! I’m going to be having surgery number 2 in a few weeks for basal cell on my face. I inquired about the Chemo cream but that is not an option yet. I wish you nothing but positive healing! You need to get back to the set!

    Take Care!
    AH

    Like

  22. Praying for you daily Ian! Only one big thing comes to mind…at least you don’t have to shave! I have a high sensitivity to pain. When I was pregnant 33 years ago, I prayed almost daily for a C-Section! Got answered prayer as she was breach! I have a lot of respect for what you are going through. Many TV people would be too vain to share what you have with your pictures. You have given us the opportunity to be your support team, prayer team, not just your fans. Thank you for sharing this tough, but vital journey with you. Now you can’t get rid of us! You are now “family.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

