Pizza, rainbows and unicorns…

Friendship comes in many shapes and sizes. Tall, short, young, old, Packers fans. My wife is my best friend. She is an incredible woman, mother and wife. She makes me a better person everyday. In return I mow the lawn, take out the garbage and occasionally empty the dishwasher. I realize it seems slightly lopsided. To that end I recently started making our bed in the morning. I’m trying to do better. Back to friendship. Many friends have called. Many have written. Some I have not heard from in many years. I am grateful for all of my friends. Even my friends who are Packers fans. Two great friends came to visit today. PJ and Gary. They brought friendship. They brought laughter. They brought Giordanno’s pizza. It was a great day. We didn’t do much. Great friends can do nothing together. At some point PJ played his 50th birthday gift. A song. His family gave him a song. Not just any song. A custom written song, all about PJ. His entire life set to music in a little ditty called rainbows and unicorns. It is excellent. Best gift ever from songfinch.com. You now know what to get me for Christmas.

It was a great day of friendship. A day that did not feel like the previous 23. I forgot all about the chemo. I still had to use nasty but necessary chemo cream but I felt almost regular today. Friends, laughter and pizza. Day 24. Another day closer to the end. Not much sleep last night and I fear more of the same tonight. The fiery pain interrupts sleep. It has been difficult to describe the pain. It feels like 100 simultaneous paper-cuts. Then nothing for a couple of hours. It comes in waves. It’s okay, I got this. It will be gone in a few days. There are many people out there dealing with much greater pain. Please add them to your prayers tonight. 
I forgot to take a picture with Gary and PJ today. I feel bad. In its absence I have attached a picture of the three amigos…Gary is the short one. Also popped a splotchy face snap from today on here.
Time for some leftover pizza. 
Day 24. Thanks for stopping by.
God bless,
-Ian


Author: ianmn

FOX 9 Chief Meteorologist Ian Leonard...love my life, love my wife, love my daughters and love my dog...kinda like the cat. I am the #stayskyaware dude.

16 thoughts on “Pizza, rainbows and unicorns…”

  1. Thank you for being honest and telling it like it is. Pizza makes everything better and good friends too. You got this!! Sending love and healing.

    Like

    1. Thanks for the advice to call friends. I had a four hour lunch with a good friend and today. Earlier I got my hair cut and mentioned your blog. My hairdresser was aware of it because she said other customers have mentioned your blog. Your advice is getting around!

      Like

  2. Thank you for sharing in such detail all you are going through. You are a wonderful, gifted writer. Praying for you to beat cancer but also that your writings will help someone who needs your encouragement.

    Like

  3. Your smile is back today. It can only get better from here. You are doing great! True friends and pizza are a wonderful combination!

    Like

  4. Hi Ian…glad your day went well….I also had pizza tonight…with my grandson, Sam…he was born with Cerebral Palsy, he is 23…..such a fine young man….take care…try and get some rest tonight…Judy

    Liked by 1 person

  5. A reminder for everyone that friends are from heaven. God sends you what you need, and he planted pizza in your friends minds. Yes, God can even use pizza in his healing plans!! Stay strong, your days of cream are few left.

    Like

  6. Your friends sound amazing. What a great way to spend your day! Life is so much better with friends in itβ™‘

    You’re so close to the end of this nasty chemo cream phase. Keep the faith. You ARE doing this and you ARE making it through. Your strength and humor along the way are an inspiring.

    Blessings to you!

    Like

  7. God is Blessing you ..you can not see Him ..You cannot feel Him but He is There with YOU! Only a few more days..You got this Ian I know you do ❀

    Like

  8. God bless you for bravely sharing your journey. My heart has been touched many times by your words. We all love the sun. It brings warmth to our earth, life to plants, and smiles to Minnesotians in winter. With all that it is nothing to worship. Oh the hours we all foolishly spent getting tan.

    Like

  9. Thinking of you brother.. I may even eat a cheeseburger in your honour today! Haven’t seen you that red-faced since you got red carded (again!) for tripping a player outside your 18-yard box! Heal well handsome.. heal well…

    Like

Leave a Reply

