Choices…

Choices. Coffee or tea. Chicken or fish. Still or sparkling. Empire strikes back or Revenge of the Jedi. Not life changing choices, but choices nonetheless. Today my daughters were choosing courses for next school year. It made me realize that life goes on. It moves forward no matter the circumstances. The chaos of life inevitably tumbles forward. When it does, make a choice. Look up or look down. Long ago in a galaxy far far away I made the choice to look up. To be positive. That was before cancer. Before surgery. Before chemo. Cancer can make you look down. The past 7 months have been challenging. At times unbearable. These are the times to look up. Positive wins. It does not make the hurdles go away. But it does make them smaller. A smile always helps, always. Even on the days where a smile takes every piece of energy you have. Smile. Just smile. I managed to do it. To stay positive. To smile. It took persistence. It took energy. It was not always easy but it helps that I am a Jedi. I got this. 

My face has been very quick to heal after chemo. Still a little red. Still a few tender spots. Still peeling and itchy. Still bordering on kinda but not really, really ridiculously good looking. My bottom lip is slow to heal. The area where cancer blossomed. Still numb. Still sore. Still blistered inside from the chemo. It will heal. I got this. 

Now my big choice. Beard or no beard? I kid. Sadly the beard goes away. I want to get back to TV. Ties, suits and weather maps…I can’t wait. Heal baby heal…bottom lip don’t fail me now. 
Day 37. Thanks for stopping by. Smile.

God bless,
-Ian

Time to do a little healing dance…

Author: ianmn

FOX 9 Chief Meteorologist Ian Leonard...love my life, love my wife, love my daughters and love my dog...kinda like the cat. I am the #stayskyaware dude.

15 thoughts on “Choices…”

  1. Beard or no beard ….I don’t care as long as you come back and do the 9 o’clock weather! I miss you and the nightly smiles and giggles you give! Get well quick so we can all enjoy your positivity and humor!!! Thanks for all you do Ian

    Like

  2. OMG, Love your optimism! 🙂 A smile! Just for you! Yes, you definitely “got ” this! Continued prayers for a speedy healing. Keith Marler teased us about your return “soon”. Can’t wait to see you again, doing what you do best! 🙂 🙂

    Like

  3. Your unending supply of optimism is such an amazing gift. I wish I had just a little handful of that optimism as I get closer to an appointment next week. If you should decide to patent this optimism and bottle it up for sale, please let me know! Your sense of humor has always been admired, “as seen on TV”, as well as evident through your blog.

    Hopefully your optimism will have a positive influence on how I accept what is to be.

    God Bless,
    Lynn

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You are dancing with a smile on your face! Many of us, strangers to you, are dancing with you.
    A smile is such a powerful thing. We need more smiles.
    So very glad to hear the pain is getting better and you will soon go back to your television family.
    We continue to pray for you and your beautiful family.

    Like

  5. Ian,
    Can’t wait to see that smiling face back on the Fox9 and weather maps. I would like to share with you that my mother had skin cancer and lost half her nose, but with surgery they did a great job of skin graphing that you could not hardly tell. So I know every ones prayers are going to help with your healing so please do not give up. Time does heal.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. You have know idea how much I needed to hear this today. I spent 5 hours at the emergency room last night with my lovely father. His quick diagnosis is Dementia. I watched him staring at the cold walls of the room, full of fear and confusion. It came on so fast. I am trying to be brave today and I know this is going to be a long road. Thank you so much for your uplifting words through your painful journey. I will be coming back to these posts for inspiration.

    Like

  7. You have know idea how much I needed to hear this today. I spent 5 hours at the emergency room last night with my lovely father. His quick diagnosis is Dementia. I watched him staring at the cold walls of the room, full of fear and confusion. It came on so fast. I am trying to be brave today and I know this is going to be a long road. Thank you so much for your uplifting words through your painful journey. I will be coming back to these posts for inspiration.

    Like

Leave a Reply

