Together we are stronger…

Life is getting back to normal. Daughter two is home from swim team. Daughter one is watching Gilmore girls with my wife as they pretend to do the dishes. Normal. Normal is good. Cancer is not normal. It is the anti-normal. Cancer throws your life into a tail spin and some families never recover. We went to visit a friend today. A normal visit in every aspect…except she has terminal cancer. I wish you could have seen her. She was magnificent. All 63 years of her. She tells great stories. Stories of growing up. Stories of falling in love. Stories of cancer. I wanted to talk about her, she wanted to talk about me. She is amazing. Through all of this she is still concerned about others. She is strong and lovely, still looking up. 
Late this afternoon was tough. Seems silly. I was overcome with emotions. Nearing the end of my journey back to health. I realized it is almost done. What a journey. Thank you for coming with me. For your comments. Your letters. Your inspiration. Your friendship. I have heard your stories of cancer. Your stories of survival. Your stories of grief. I am forever changed. I am reinvigorated. I am now helping four of my new blog friends through the process I just faced. They will get through this just like I did. With support from others. 
Think about it. We have done this together. We have had a visit. Cancer is our bond.  A bond no one wants but a bond that brings us together. A bond that makes us stronger. We are better together. We are stronger together. We can make great things happen together. Someone in your life needs you. Look around. Reach out. Help bring their life back to normal. You can do this. Reach out, together we are better. 
If I have not said it often enough, there are people going through much worse than me, please keep them in your prayers tonight. 
Day 39. Thanks for stopping by. 

For inspiration I have added a polar plunge picture. Many of you know my love of Special Olympics MN. A movement of over 8000 athletes who constantly inspire me. I have plunged over 150 times to raise money for This glorious movement…this is the time I was a blueberry. I know, inspiring costume πŸ™‚
God bless, 
-Ian

Author: ianmn

FOX 9 Chief Meteorologist Ian Leonard...love my life, love my wife, love my daughters and love my dog...kinda like the cat. I am the #stayskyaware dude.

17 thoughts on “Together we are stronger…”

  1. Ian, I love your words! I was diagnosed with breast cancer in December. I just told a friend tonight that I continue to remind myself that it always cold be worse—there’s always someone going through something worse. It’s so important to hold on to all the blessings! I just started reading your blog a couple weeks ago and you inspire me and I appreciate your truth.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You, Ian, have been amazing through this unwelcome journey you are on. You are not alone. We are on board with you, trusting in our God who heals and keeps us through the storms that come. Keep looking up! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You made a great blueberry….so glad things are falling into place…your spirit is good…
    which always helps….keep it going…I’m so happy for you…Judy

    Like

  4. Ian, I have known you forever, literally. As much as I never want my friend(s) to go through this, I am very grateful things sound incredibly promising for you and your recovery . Your courage and raw honesty are truly inspirational. Love and hugs to you and your family.

    Like

  5. Reading your blog brought tears to my eyes and then I scroll down and smile at your blueberry costume. Your positive attitude has helped me get through the same procedure in Nov. that you have gone through. God bless you Ian – you have weathered the storm. Really enjoy your blogs!

    Like

  6. I am sure you are aware channel 11 did the plunge today, even if it was in a pool, the thoughts of you were with them with a small mention of your name before going in. I thought that was great. And of course for special olympics. Nice of them to do it.
    God Bless you and yours. Look forward to your return soon. Minus the beard of course. To handsome a face to cover with whiskers.

    Like

  7. Ian you have truly been an inspiration to many through your words and your strength. Cancer is an emotional roller coaster and you have taken the ride by storm!

    Like

  8. Thank you Ian for your inspirational blogs- I hope you know how much they have helped others facing cancer and even those not. It’s true that those with any type of a cancer journey hold a special bond. I’ve found many new friends through my esophageal cancer. I’m blessed that right now I’m free of the beast and count my blessings every day- you are right that there’s always someone who is less fortunate

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Thank you for sharing. Our daughter fought cancer at 18 years old. It was tough, but we bonded together and are stronger today. She just turned 30 and is amazing and always helping others with their struggles.
    Have a lovely day with your family:)

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Thank you for sharing your journey with all of us. When someone is battling cancer, you need to try to keep your life normal as possible, that is very hard to do. I have a 41 yr old Nephew, that has been battling stage 4 Colon Cancer for almost 7 yrs now. Our family has had many ups and downs, that we have survived. God Bless you and your family.

    Like

  11. Ian, You are very inspiring. I have the greatest regard for you and how you are dealing with this awful disease. I know many people who have beaten this thing and I know you can too. Tell Jasper Hi. I sure miss my Sara Jane, a lot of my conversations were with her.

    Like

  12. Hi Ian – I just saw on the news you are coming back on Monday!!!!!! Your co-workers – as are we the viewers – are very excited about that. The good thing – is you will be back – stronger than ever. Bet you already have your clothes picked out – πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

