Back where I belong…

Monday. Just another day. School buses come and go. I fill my coffee cup a few times and eventually head to the gym. Then it sinks in. Its not just another day. Its not just Monday. It is day 43. The end. Today I go back where I belong. My second home. My second family. I go back to television. I proudly put on a new suit. Pick out a pink tie. Sit for an early lunch with the love of my life. Then settle into my car. But wait. What song should I play for this drive. This drive that I have waited 43 days to make. I pick a few. It needs to be loud. It needs to be motivational.  “Courage” from The Tragically  Hip, “Something to live for” by Barney Bentall, “Keep on rolling” by REO Speedwagon,  “Dr feel good” from Motley Crue and “Geronimo” by the band Shepard…perfect. It is a short drive.  I turn it up to eleven.

Off to the office, my car seems to know the way. I park. Then I sit. Taking it all in. Walking through the door was like coming to my parents house at Christmas…like coming home. Then the tear and hugs. My second family. I am back home. It is late as I write this. I am emotionally exhausted but I feel wonderful. I feel like I can finally stop counting these days. Day 43 is done. Tomorrow is day one of the rest of forever. No more counting. Just living. Living a great and wonderful life with my wife and daughters. Making a difference in my friends lives…making a difference in strangers lives. Making a difference. 

Try that tomorrow. Make a difference. We will all be better because you tried…

Day 43. Thanks for stopping by.

God bless,

-Ian

A few pics from today: a desk full of flowers, treats, cheeseburgers (thanks Kelcey) and Gaga cookies. The white tulips are from my wife and daughters…we love tulips and I love my chix 🙂

 

Author: ianmn

FOX 9 Chief Meteorologist Ian Leonard...love my life, love my wife, love my daughters and love my dog...kinda like the cat. I am the #stayskyaware dude.

20 thoughts on “Back where I belong…”

    1. I waited all day to watch you! I kept peeking at the clock. Then suddenly…there you were!!! The guy I had been waiting for 43 days to return. Now it all feels right. I will pray again tonight that you remain cancer free. I will keep praying. I have a list. Thankfully that list is getting shorter because of cures. Let’s keep you on that side.OK?ğŸ’–ğŸ˜ŽğŸ’ŸğŸ”ğŸŒž

      Like

  1. Looking great tonight. You have this….you have done it! It is now onward and upward! Can’t wait for your lesson on what to look for and how to prevent . Everyday is a new lesson in a thing call life. I cam away with many lessons but one of many very important reminders, one may think they have it bad and just can’t go on but the truth is many have it far worse so open up you heart and lend a helping hand! God bless you and your family for what you have given to so many.

    Like

  2. It was wonderful to see you back where you belong! You touched our hearts and have been an inspiration to many as you shared your story. Thank you for sharing your incredible journey with us. My wish for you is that you continue to live your life filled with faith, hope and love! God Bless You!

    Like

  3. Woohoo!! Welcome back to television Ian! I love seeing your smile and hearing your weather report.

    You worked long and hard to battle cancer to get to this day. You deserve every hug, every tear of joy, every “welcome back”.

    See on TV:-)

    Like

  4. What a great way to end my day… To see you back on screen – and giving us a wonderful forecast! (Each year I say it’s going to be 50 degrees on my birthday, Feb. 21, even tho it rarely is.) Blessings to you and your family! You are amazing!

    Like

  5. It was great to see you back. Of course you were amazing! I recognize that purple box on your desk. I’m a floral designer at Bachman’s. We worked 6a.m. to 8:45p.m. last night preparing for Valentine’s day! I was concerned I wouldn’t make it home in time to watch you! Not sure if you could hear it…but the Twin Cities broke out in applause when you appeared! Well done…prayers answered!

    Like

  6. So glad you are back to where you belong. I wish I was after putting my Sara to sleep last Wed, I sure have a big hole in my life right now. Kiss Jasper for me.

    Like

  7. Welcome back.. you very missed so much..by the way . I love the pink tie..the best to you and your family..have an awesome life Ian..

    Like

  8. Bravo Bravo….!!! Another week and you will look just like the young man who went boogie boarding 8 times in one day down at South Mission Beach and I look forward to you coming out and doing the same again only this time with sun screen on and a Coolibar hat! Happy Valentine’s Day to you and that wonderful wife of yours, hug the girls for me. Many blessing to you Ian for fighting the fight and being such a great role model for those engaged in a similar situation. Love to All,

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Ian I am happy to help you with the expo! What a great idea!! I have some experience with these things and of course, a cancer survivor. Happy to connect when it works for you, I’m retired!

    Like

Leave a Reply

