Been there, done that…

February second. Groundhog Day. That special day when large rodents forecast the weather. In Canada they look to Ontario’s Wiarton Willie. In America, the prognosticator of prognosticators, Punxsutawney Phil. It is a day created to give hope to the masses. Hope to the many who refuse to embrace winter. Alas, a false hope generated by a rodent. Hope that the cold and snow will disappear into an early spring. Silly rodent. We had groundhog for dinner tonight. Tastes a lot like chicken. 

Groundhog Day. One of my favorite movies. A weatherman is forced to relive the same day, everyday. I can relate. I need that goofy shirt. The one from the gift shop. The one that says “been there, done that. 28 days. All basically the same. Wake up, chemotherapy, stay in house. 28 days. I finished chemo 4 days ago. Things are changing. Change is good. The sharp pain is gone. But it still hurts. It still aches. My cheeks and nose hurt. Like I went 5 rounds with Mike Tyson. My face is red and messy. My loving wife described it as “oozy”. A lovely description. Out of the way world, oozy or not I was going out. A big time outing. Yes. A big box hardware store. Incognito weatherman shopping for hardware. As can happen, I was recognized. Ball cap, ooze and all. We met Sue and her husband. Loyal viewers of FOX 9 and my blog. I was oozy, they were lovely. Thank you Sue! 
Perhaps it is because today was different. I feel the change. I feel the healing. I feel the need. The need for speed. I am starting to feel better. Perhaps that is why I felt the need to include a Top Gun line. 
Day 31. Thanks for stopping by. Healing nicely, Oozy pics below šŸ™‚
God bless,
-Ian

Author: ianmn

FOX 9 Chief Meteorologist Ian Leonard...love my life, love my wife, love my daughters and love my dog...kinda like the cat. I am the #stayskyaware dude.

24 thoughts on “Been there, done that…”

  1. Wow– how quick you heal! You are such a rock in this world showing positivity and that passion you speak so well of! Hope to see you on the ice soon.

    Like

  2. The wife still loves you and the girls and the dog and the dumb cat,,They will love you regardless of what you look like..You are so awesome Ian..I am so glad you are feeling better, that is half the battle.Be safe and keep up the good work..

    Like

  3. Hi Ian. You are really coming along with the healing process it must be all that bacon you ate?? Keep up the good job and keep up your good attitude. We want you back on TV9 weather.

    Like

  4. Thought l saw a smile peek through on some of the pictures. Your face is looking better. HEALING !!! The worst is over. Now you will be starting your new life. Cancer free. Thanks for sharing. šŸ˜‡

    Like

  5. Ian, your face doesn’t look so angry at you now. We see the sparkle back in your eyes and the hint of a smile. Nothing like a trip to the hardware store to lift your spirits. So many gadgets. Everyone looks forward to your return to give us the weather. God bless.

    Like

  6. OMG Ian….looks so much better just one day later. You got this!!! No better therapy than a trip to a home improvement store with a ‘to do list’ and a new project for the spring. Let us know when you are able to plunge and we will be there to cover it. Hugs, prayers and positive thoughts coming you and your family’s way. All the best….Steve and Kim at Tee Times

    Like

  7. Ian,
    Thank you for your authentic posts this past month. They have been a blessing to me as I recovered from a surgery that initially was to be a 5-7 day recovery, and following a second surgery, I am back to work after two months. You and your family have been and will continue to be in my prayers. I look forward to seeing your smiling face back on television!

    Like

  8. Hey oozy guy, do you have enough ammunition for that oozy? In the movie Scarface Al Pacino carried an oozy (sp), which is also an Israeli – made machine gun. Irony? Nah I’m not that smart. But seriously, the other television news crews should try hiring a good looking groundhog to do the weather, couldn’t be any less fun & useful than what they have now. No offense intended, I just happen to prefer a meteorologist who looks the part, i.e.: like a “Polar Vortex” collided with a “Solar Flare” right in the middle of his face. I include you and family in my daily prayer. You serve your fellow humans in most unusual and admirable ways. I am blessed by your presence on earth. The Lord bless and keep you Ian, Matt G. – Oak Grove, Mn

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

  9. Ian, sitting here watching 9 pm news and your colleagues. They do a great job, but do so miss you! You are getting thru your treatment and you will come out on the other side. Look at the world a little different, probably more enjoyment of family and friends and less about little things or people. My family has gone thru this maybe more than others, son had non Hodgkins lymphoma when he was 13, just turned 29. He was the inspiration for us all but it changed us all. Nick lost all his hair, well 99% never let hair stylist shave it all off. We are better people because of our experience. Know we are all with you, Ian! Bless you!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Ian ~ you are definitely on the mend. Your face is not looking quite so red and painful and I swear I see a hint of a smile. From here on out, it will be better everyday. Prayers and hugs for healing quickly.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. You should be “good to go” by Valentine’s day, healing goes super fast once you stop the topical chemo. I did my treatment Jan 2011, coworkers had see me everyday, I only looked in the mirror every evening when I did my application. If I ever have to do the treatment again, I’ll start early October so I’ll be ready for Halloween…

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Lookin’ so much better! Wow! Thank you for sharing this ‘adventure’ with us all. I think perhaps I may go thru this as well as my ‘beak’ gets the full sun effects every summer. But I am impressed that you took us all thru this journey. Thank you again Ian. ~ Paula xoxo

    Like

Leave a comment