Hot wings, really hot wings…

I love chicken wings. My wife rolls her eyes when I order wings. Sometimes it is in a rather fancy establishment, but I love em…I love chicken wings. I don’t like them too hot. I can do without the really, really hot sauce. The kind no one wants to try. The kind that hurts as much going in as it does coming out. You win a free t-shirt when you eat a dozen wings. THAT hot sauce. That is the way my lips feel …inside and out. There are no wings, just fluorouracil. Topical chemo cream. A penalty for worshipping the sun. A penalty for thinking that having a tan meant I was were healthy.

It hurts. No lie. It hurts, it burns. But I am lucky. No lip removal this time. No big surgery. Instead…the chemo cream.

I am a lucky man. I have an incredible wife and 2 amazing daughters. They are the best at helping me through this. This is the second time. And they are so full of life and love. They inspire me everyday. I also have a wonderful group of friends. My oldest friend in the world called me the other day. Wondering how I was, pushing me to work through this. I love him for that. He is my oldest, and dearest friend. He is a friend that cares and a friend that motivates. His name is Jim Webb. He will hate that I mentioned him, but that is okay. He is a best friend. One of a few. You know who you are. Another bunch of dear friends wanted to come by tonight. I had to say no. I would not be good company. It is tough to open my mouth. Tough to laugh. Not mentally tough…but physically.

It’s all good, I have this. A week of discomfort. A few days to heal. Easy compared to what other people go through. There are friends in your life who need you. They are going through much worse. They need to hear from you. They need a call, a text. Do it. Let them know you care. And keep them in your prayers. Don’t go to bed without asking yourself “what did I do for someone else today?”.

God bless, thanks for stopping by,

-Ian

Author: ianmn

FOX 9 Chief Meteorologist Ian Leonard...love my life, love my wife, love my daughters and love my dog...kinda like the cat. I am the #stayskyaware dude.

2 thoughts on “Hot wings, really hot wings…”

  1. Prayers for you to have the strength I can’t imagine the pain, although I have experienced much pain myself. You are so strong and it seems as one goes through something you get even stronger. Keep up the good work.

    Like

Leave a comment